Kuroshitsuji 2nd Season: Yay! Wait, what?

21 06 2009

When it was announced that Kuroshitsuji (Black Butler) was getting a second season I squeed in joy, along with the rest of the internet. Then I actually thought about it …

While I’m all for more adventures of Lord Grumpy-Pants and his Über-Butler of doom, how the hell are they going to pull that off with the way the first season ended?

More under the cut – Massive spoilers for the ending of the first season!

How the hell are we going to pull a 2nd season out of our asses?!

How the hell are we going to pull a 2nd season out of our asses?!


First of all, the debut season ended … conclusively. There was no ambiguity, no room for a sequel. It ended the way it ended, and that was that.

Sebastian took Ciel’s soul, and that was a gutsy move on the part of the anime staff. They teased it the whole series, hinting at what the contract between Sebastian and Ciel really meant, but didn’t really have to go that far. Most anime series probably wouldn’t – most series would’ve shied away at the last minute, finding some filler-loophole in the contract that lets the dynamic duo continue as they were. But they didn’t do that. I gave them mad kudos for that!

So how exactly do you go from the last scene being Sebastian taking Ciel’s delicious shota soul, right into another season? How do you ret-con that?

Mmmm, Ciel's soul...nom, nom, nom

Mmmm, Ciel's soul...nom, nom, nom

Second of all, do they have enough manga-material to keep them from falling into filler-doom? One of the main problems I (and most of the internet, it seems) had with the series was the random anime fluff that kept the show from really getting to the good stuff. I don’t know if the ending fight with Angela/Ash was filler-ified, but I’m willing to bet it was, at least in part.

The pacing was all off in the first season: The random first episodes were so boring that they kept non-manga-readers from getting into the series, and they racked up the episode count too fast so that the ending Lao-betrayal arc and Angela/Ash arc had to be dealt with in just a short amount of episodes and felt totally rushed.

Grell is happy for 2nd season!  Maybe I'll get more screentime?

Grell is happy for 2nd season! Maybe I'll get more screentime?

So, if they can somehow convincingly wrangle a premise for a second season, and hopefully use the manga material effectively (avoiding the timing and pacing issues from the first season), this could be a vast improvement and let the show really shine.

Or, it could be a total waste of a second season and really do injustice to the potential of the first, aka the Code Geass R2 effect.

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 09 2013
abusive relationships abusive relationships signs abusive relationships stories abusive relationships quotes abusive relationships hotline abusive relationships quiz abusive relationships tumblr abusive relationships movies abusive relationships articles

abusive relationships abusive relationships signs abusive relationships stories abusive relationships quotes abusive relationships hotline abusive relationships quiz abusive relationships tumblr abusive relationships movies abusive relationships arti…

Kuroshitsuji 2nd Season: Yay! Wait, what? | Catnamedcat’s Blog

24 12 2009
Annie (i LOVE kuroshitsuji)

I really loved the ending even through it was so sad… But what I think about season two is.. Interesting, I wonder how they are going to make it.. My guess is… Remember the fight between Sebastian and Ash/Angela (a.k.a. f*cking b*tch, sorry fans!!) ? In that fight.. Sebastians arm with the contract on it went off, didn’t it? Doesn’t that sort of mean that the next season will start with something like him saying:
“Then, my lord.. How about I’ll give you a second chance? After all, I have no right to take your soul with no sign of the contract.” [ insert random fluffy moment with Ciel and Sebastian here ] … *Ciel returns to his old, pissy self*
“Yeah, whatever, let’s go home.”
“Yes, my lord!” [ insert epic music here ] and TA-DAH!!! Say hello to season two!! Wow.. random comment FTW.. OwO

21 08 2009
Namu-chan

I think the general rule of thumb is that whatever came first is probably better. As for Kuroshitsuji, I can understand why they ran out of plotline because the manga hasn’t gotten far yet, but at the same time, there was a lot of stuff they skipped over, and a lot of unnecessary random plotlines they weaved into the manga ones. I am however impressed that they ended it the way they did.
As for a second season, I’m hoping it’s to ret-con most of the first and pick up where they left off in the manga. Though honestly, I’m not sure I could handle the Circus Ark if it were animated xD

9 08 2009
hahalol

why did i read this now i want to watch it now, the ending was soooooo sad

4 08 2009
Christine

I’ve been on the Kuroshitsji boat almost since the beginning, so, after getting board and waiting for the next manga chapter, I poked my curiosity at the anime. I heard it came out awesome, so why not?
In the end my face looked like this – O_o…THEY DID IT? I give them kudos for that, too, but how in the hellement are they gunna do a second season? Mabe they’ll decide to put Noah’s Ark in instead of hinting at it? (Come on, we all know the dolls were their little way of sticking it in.)
In my mind, the manga will always be better. I’ve never found an anime that outdid its manga. If they’d followed the plot, I’d’ve given it thought, but not with the way they went off on some tangant.
But the soundtrack was great and so was the animimation, and they had sirious guts to go along with the stealing of the soul.
As a Spongebob fan, my last words are:
“Steal your soul!!”
(I’ll shut my face now.)

5 08 2009
The Cat

I actually haven’t read the Kuro manga (I know, I’m like, the only one!) but probably will after they bring it to the States. I did really like the anime, despite it’s flaws. I can understand how those who read the manga would be a little more harsh and go o.O at some of the things they did with the filler!

It’s been sooooo popular though! I’m glad they’re bringing it back … but how? Seriously? I think it might be kindof cool if they just reboot and don’t even mention the end of the first season. Just start over with a clean slate and go right into the new stuff. That’d be pretty awesome – never going to happen, though.

There are actually a couple of series where I thought the anime improved on the manga, but you are right – the are few and far between!

Leave a Reply

