07-Ghost 1-10 aka The Trend continues

14 06 2009

07-Ghost - copyright Yuki Amemiya & Yukino Ichihara, Studio DEEN

07-Ghost - copyright Yuki Amemiya & Yukino Ichihara, Studio DEEN


When I started watching 07-Ghost I was pretty excited about it – the military theme was neat, the visuals were shiny, the characters bishounen … and then it got boring.

From episode 2 to around episode 8 nothing happened.

Seriously, nothing happened. There were mermaids for some reason, and that was about it.

Teito is an action!bishounen for two seconds - copyright Yuki Amemiya & Yukino Ichihara, Studio DEEN

Teito is an action!bishounen for two seconds - copyright Yuki Amemiya & Yukino Ichihara, Studio DEEN

The “daring” escape from the first episode made me think this would be an exciting anime with a unique fighting system, or at the very least a suspenseful cat-and-mouse game with the main bishounen fighting for his life against an all-powerful enemy.

Not so much.

Continued after the cut – contains spoilers!

Instead, Teito escaped, fled to a strange church filled with bishop!bishounen … and hung out for 9 episodes. He kept saying he was going to leave, but never did! He still hasn’t!

At least after 10 episodes, it seems that the plot is moving.

The bad guy is actually attacking instead of just glaring menacingly and Aizen-like at nothing in particular.

Ayanami's grumpy face - copyright Yuki Amemiya & Yukino Ichihara, Studio DEEN

Ayanami's grumpy face - copyright Yuki Amemiya & Yukino Ichihara, Studio DEEN


The super-secret powers that lay hidden dormant in Naruto Teito Klein have finally appeared and have the effect of making him an assertive, interesting character instead of a wimpy, amnesiac brat.

And, of course, the love interest best friend character has gone and died in order to give Teito more angst and more reason to get the hell out of boring!church of doom.

Which brings me to my next rant.

When watching the first episode of 07-Ghost, I decided on my favorite character. I usually have a ‘type’ of character that I like, and it becomes easily apparent who my favorite will be from the first or second episode. (Unless, of course, Akira Ishida is in the series, in which case my favorite automatically defaults to the character he voices.)

Teito Klein didn’t impress me, other than the fact that Mitsuki Saiga is voicing him. Ayanami was pretty cool I guess, if only for the Sho Hayami factor.

Since the priests hadn’t been introduced yet, that left Mikage.

Mikage: aren't I cute? - copyright Yuki Amemiya & Yukino Ichihara, Studio DEEN

Mikage: aren't I cute? - copyright Yuki Amemiya & Yukino Ichihara, Studio DEEN


Ah, Mikage. You were doomed from the start.

Here’s a short list of anime characters that I instantly liked and decided were my favorite as soon as I saw them:

Wolfwood (Trigun)
L (Death Note)
Hughes (Full Metal Alchemist)
Spike (Cowboy Bebop)
Kamina (Gurren Lagann)

Notice a trend?

Poor Mikage – he was so likable and fun, so cute and funny, and he loved Teito so much. Definitely doomed.

I understand that in order for Teito to have angst grow as a character, Mikage needed to die.

I understand that Mikage’s death will provide the motivation Teito needs to continue down his path towards self-discovery and give him the strength to confront Ayanami.

I understand that Mikage’s limitless optimism and faith had no place in this show, which is actually darker than it lets on.

But, seriously?! My favorite character had to die in a show that I’m not even that invested in? Oh, come on!

Mikage: At least I got a sparkly, feathery hug before I died!

Mikage: At least I got a sparkly, feathery hug before I died!

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 06 2009
Movie Meg

Aw sparkly, feathery hugs are the best! :D Uh oh, don’t tell Rossiu he’s not your favorite anymore ;)

Hm, yeah I don’t think I’ll be giving this one a go.

18 06 2009
The Cat

Rossiu is my favorite – just not until the second half of the series. I love asshole!Rossiu, not wimpy!Rossiu :) And Kamina is pretty much everybody’s favorite until he dies, I think.

This show has the potential to be really cool – and then doesn’t. Maybe it’ll get better now that the plot is moving a little. I hope so, anyway. Otherwise it’s a huge waste of pretty bishounen and lots of subtext!
Reply

Leave a Reply

